Nothing had prepared me for this

A surprise text in the wee hours of the morning or a call from a distant relative… though I am technologically challenged, I am not immune to its gifts. 
 
But nothing had prepared me for this.
 
As I finished drinking my afternoon coffee with mumma, I heard my phone ring in the other room. An unknown number starting with 00121… flashed on the screen. Rarely do I attend calls on my week off and even less are the chances of entertaining calls from an unknown number.
 
But today was different. Though the sun rose from the east, it was shinning differently.
 
“Hello.”
“Who is this?” said a woman, who had an American accent.
“Anisha. And you?”
“Hmm, the thing is I have been receiving Christian text messages from this number for some time now.”
 
A habit that had no intention of ending. Every night I send Biblical messages to my friends hoping to penetrate their world with the Word. “Your messages… small things that you do for His kingdom faithfully,” a friend had once remarked.
 
“Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much.” (Luke 16:10)
 
Coming back to the phone call.
 
“Ok. That’s a surprise, because I don’t have your number saved.”
“Did you used to go to City Harvest (my previous church)?” she asked, puzzled herself.
“Yes.” But it still didn’t explain how the messages were reaching her on the Indian number.
“Probably a mistake. But I just want to thank you because the messages have been very encouraging.”
 
Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing. (1 Thessalonians 5:11)
 
Thus, the call ended. I was so taken aback by the lady’s call that I forgot to take down her Indian number, where she was getting my messages. Recently, I bought a new phone, so I am guessing while saving numbers, I accidentally entered a wrong combination that happened to be this lady’s number.
 
As I tried to understand the “how” and “why” of this situation, He answered, “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the LORD.” (Isaiah 55:8)
 
And, so, I question no more. God reached out to someone, across oceans, in an unexpected way; the only thing I need to be concerned about is to keep sending the messages day in and day out.
 
Image
 
Image
One thought on “Nothing had prepared me for this

Leave a Reply

