He loves to watch us laugh

It was 9 am and I was still in bed trying to catch up on “five more” minutes of sleep. My sister, on the other hand, was bursting with excitement. She was waiting for the cab to drop her at the airport – she’s off to Goa (one of the most-sought after beach destinations in India), her first time. 
 
She could barely control her excitement and I could feel the bed shake with her giggles over silly things that were making her laugh. She was giggling amidst the fact that the cab was running late and that she also had to pick up two other friends on the way.
 
It didn’t matter, for at that time she was a flame, waiting to light other flames. And I, the lucky one, was the closest.
 
“Do you remember the school we studied in Himachal Pradesh (located in Northern India)?” she inquired, oblivious to the fact that I was thinking of ignoring her question by pretending to sleep.
 
“Hmm.” And I turned my face to the window, away from her voice.
 
“There used to be a girl in my class (Standard III), who stayed near school. Once, when we had got done with the morning assembly and were returning back to our classes, her dog was waiting outside the classroom. The dog had followed her to the school.” 
 
Now the bed was trembling for both of us were rolling in laughter. How do you continue sleeping when someone reminds you about the beauty of the past? 
 
“All the students were so scared and so was I, because we thought it was a coyote. But, I held on to the dog so that everybody could get inside. The girl had to take the dog home and then come back to school. That’s my first memory of being so close to a dog and after that I just started loving them more.”
 
Both of us were rejoicing – filled with joy – about an incident that happened when we were not even 10 years old. 
 
Now I commend you because you remember me in everything and maintain the traditions even as I delivered them to you. (1 Corinthians 11:2)
 
In the same way, after supper he took the cup, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood; do this, whenever you drink it, in remembrance of me.” (1 Corinthians 11:25)
 
We were remembering and rejoicing. Without realising, we were doing what He had told us to do – Remember (again and again) what I have done for you and be filled with joy.
 
Remember, for He is the present that was always there in the past and, no matter what, will not leave in the future. Remember and rejoice, for He loves to watch us laugh.

 

Image 

 

Image

Leave a Reply

