Patient endurance

It was all very peaceful. The weather was amazing, the world looked lovely and I was softly humming the song that I had listened to while getting ready in the morning…
 
Grace, what have You done?
Murdered for me on that cross
Accused in absence of wrong
My sin washed away in Your blood
(Scandal of Grace by Hillsong)
 
Fast forward to 45 minutes and the world didn’t look so lovely after all. The effort to start my day early was thwarted by the long wait to get a ride to work. The irritation rose as I watched the same car go back and forth from its destination. I calculated what all I could have done if I hadn’t wasted 45 minutes of my life waiting for a bus.
 

Patient endurance is what you need now, so that you will continue to do God’s will. Then you will receive all that he has promised. (Hebrews 10:36)

 
But here’s the thing about “patient endurance”: It is very draining. Drains you and makes you feel numb to the joy that just round the corner. So even if there’s a movie plan with a bunch of friends in the evening or the fact that you bought surprise treats for your friends or the excitement of exploring a new gadget that your sister surprised you with… you feel numb.
 
I guess, it’s when you give up on yourself that  He reminds you – “Jesus is bigger than this”. As I walked to work, I got a message from a friend.
 
And will not God bring justice for his chosen ones, who cry out to him day and night. (Luke 18:7)
 
Who cry out to him day and night… Stating a fact that we are “all going to cry out to him” and be in situations when things don’t appear so lovely. 
 
Quit fighting against everything you don’t like. It’s not happening to you; it’s happening for you. When you’re at rest, you’re passing the test. (Joel Osteen)
 
Quit fighting for you’ll be surprised to realise often in Scripture God’s purposes break out from disruption or delay. (http://www.markbuchanan.net/2013/03/01/delays-disruptions-history/)
 
 
So while I tried to chew this tough lesson in patent endurance, I made a mental note on how I can avoid acting like a dog and, in frustration, get rid of the urge to chase cars that pass me by  – carry a book. For a lot can be read in 45 minutes.

God never wastes His servants’ time. (Amy Carmichael) 

 
Image
 
 
Imageove,
Leave a Reply

