Good things come in small packages

Twirling a tea bag in a hot cup of water, I watched with fascination as the otherwise transparent water welcomed the intrusive orange trails.

 
“Pretty colours, don’t you think?”
The woman laughed, “You are happy in small things.”
 
Yes, I am. Because good things come in small packages and isn’t God present in the tiny details?
 
One who is faithful in a very little is also faithful in much, and one who is dishonest in a very little is also dishonest in much. (Luke 16:10)
 
Faithful in very little… how does one prove their faithfulness? By acknowledging that every thing comes from HIM and is a blessing no matter how unfair it might seem at times. 
 
The foremost quality of a trusting disciple is gratefulness. It’s only when you live the prayer of thanksgiving that you live the power of trusting God.
 
I am currently taking a 1000 Thousand Gift challenge by Ann Voskamp (http://onethousandgifts.com/) wherein you write down everyday gifts; gifts that might seem “little” and usually go unnoticed. It’s been less than 60 days and I am at 460…
 
460 Finished reading The Scarlet Pimpernel
459 A friend’s reaction to a present I gave her
458 Bed of flowers next to the stop I catch a bus from
 
…that’s 7-8 “recorded” gifts per day (which I was able to note down before overcoming with laziness). Not bad.
 
One Thousand Gifts is a celebration of grace and a recognition of the power of gratitude. (Ann Voskamp)
 
And, yes, he was present in my “little” cup of tea and I was thankful for that.
 
Image
 
 
Image
3 thoughts on “Good things come in small packages

  1. Just came across your blog as I was finishing up my own list of gifts. This is a beautiful place to come, and you have an awesome writing style plus lovely gifts to be grateful for. So glad I found you!

    1. Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing. (1 Thessalonians 5:11)

      Reading your words of encouragement on this warm Tuesday afternoon, I just have one thing to say – Thank You.

      So glad I found YOU too.

Leave a Reply

