Be angry…

Angry? Well, I was boiling.

 

I was in no mood to spend Sunday night at someone’s house that I didn’t know (and didn’t want to either), pretend to exchange polite pleasantries and nibble on fattening, yet scrumptious, snacks that will end up making me feel guilty for the unhealthy binging. Moreover, I had just got home and I was tired as my day had started very early on account of going to church.

 

But my pursuit to get out of the tiring engagement was fruitless because my dad wasn’t in the mood for “I don’t feel like going” conversations.

 

Therefore, I switched to my “zombie-is-angry mode”. I refused to speak to anyone and throughout the ride, which was actually very pleasant, kept my head down.

 

“A proud man is always looking down on things and people; and, of course, as long as you are looking down, you cannot see something that is above you.”

(C.S. Lewis)

 

Caught in a hopeless situation and made to act against my will, I was riding the roller-coaster of self-righteous anger: “If only I could have lied and stayed outside a bit longer. Then they could have gone ahead and I would have the house to myself.”

 

“Be angry, and yet do not sin; do not let the sun go down on your anger, and do not give the devil an opportunity.” Ephesians 4:26-27

 

I remember reading these verses some days back and, honestly, these were the only words that were keeping me from snapping at my sister, who was trying to be extra nice, or my dad who was attempting to break the ice.

 

But by the end of the evening, I was quite mellow – the family was hospitable, the vintage house beautifully decorated, and I had fun watching Hotel Transylvania. On the ride back home, dad said, “I am impressed with your honesty. If you wanted, you could have come up with some excuse to get out of this dinner (uh oh!) or stayed outside till late (hmm, if he only know). But you didn’t, instead you were honest that you didn’t want to go. Appreciate it.”

 

How do you remain angry at someone, when they say such things? You can’t and, thus, I melted. My dad has this affect on people, and I am certainly not immune it.

 

Image

 

Image

 

Imagel

 

 

Leave a Reply

