Thank You

Image

She leaves for Canada this December and, most probably, I will never see her again. And it’s last part that I don’t like the sound of.

We have known each other since three years – we used to go to church together, she has seen me at my worst, we have lived the crazies that we didn’t think was possible, sleepovers that got over without any sleep…

Image

I am happy but like every major change in one’s life, I feel my resisting this. Well, farewells have never been my strong suit either.

So when she came over to meet me one last time with a packet of books that she thought would help me in my Christian life, I didn’t have anything profound to say. Just a nod and a smile and a chuckle while remembering the ‘insane’ old days. But now that the news has sunk in, I need to say something that I should have said not just when she was walking away, but, every single day over the past three years.

Thank you.

“I can never stop thanking God for all the generous gifts he has given…” (1 Corinthians 1:4-5) I guess Paul might have had the likes of you in mind when he wrote these centuries’ old words. The human spirit soars with hope when lifted by an encouraging word. And you were always there, with your words spilling over with encouragement that this hope junkie was eternally in need of.

Thank you.

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change. (James 1:17) Without a doubt, you have been one of the ‘bestest’ (I know it’s not a word) gifts ‘from above’.

I guess, what I am also trying to say is: Even though I am proud of you for having achieved the dream of studying abroad, I wish you didn’t have to go.

I wish you were a Nightcrawler ((http://marvel.com/universe/Nightcrawler). Hmm, not looks wise though.

Image

Leave a Reply

