Giving up

Image

We, human beings, give too much credit to ourselves –  to our abilities, understanding, knowledge, wisdom…

Like the time when I was 100 per cent sure that my sister had conjunctivitis when she woke up one Friday morning with a swollen red eye. While she dismissed it saying that it might be an infection, as she had forgotten to remove make-up when going to sleep, I claimed to know more. “I am telling you it’s conjunctivitis. Don’t you remember when we had it couple of years back? The symptoms are exactly the same.”

The doctor, who burned the midnight oil to learn about science that I possessed after some Google searches and personal experiences, said, “It’s not conjunctivitis; just some infection, nothing serious.”

Or like the other time, when I was so sure that my parents wouldn’t allow me to go for an out-of-town wedding of a very good friend. “They just wouldn’t; I know my parents. They wouldn’t think it’s a safe option to go to a city where I know very few souls.” Turns out, the moment they saw the wedding card, they were very excited and wanted to know more about my friend.

Bummer! Looks like I need to stop depending on how sure I am or feel regarding the final outcome of any situation.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. (Proverbs 3:5)

Image

Even though it’s difficult to give away the control, it’ll be alright. Things always turn out for the best when Jesus’ at the wheels. (Jeremiah 29:11) 

Anything important will be difficult to achieve. But don’t let the fear of failure stop you from even trying. Because when Jesus is the driver of your life, all you need to do is – sit back, relax and enjoy the ride.

Image

Leave a Reply

