Can you feel His love tonight?

Image

Unfriendly remark, a sly glance, bad traffic, getting caught in a dust storm… there’s only so much you can take without breaking a sweat. But then things happen and there’s nothing you can do about it, except…

The lady at the coffee place didn’t have change for Rs 500 ($8.018) and neither was her swipe machine working. I wanted coffee for myself and a surprise one for my friend. She stood at the counter and smiled her big smile, “I am sorry, I don’t have change and neither can I go outside and get it. But I can cancel your order.”

Unfair, but not the tipping point.

A caller had a lot of questions but didn’t have an ear for my answers. Ever come across such people who talk only to be listened to?

Irritating, but not the tipping point.

Got a message from a person who pings only when he needs something. And since I was unable to help, he said stuff that certainly didn’t make me feel warm and fuzzy inside.

Angry, but definitely not the tipping point.

“In everything, therefore, treat people the same way you want them to treat you, for this is the Law and the Prophets.” (Mathew 7:12) Jesus wouldn’t be in a rage after encountering these three and neither will I. Yay! Score for me.

You ride the tallest and the scariest waves with grace, but why is it that many a times the tiny ones throw you off balance?

My tipping point: a toy, Minion toy.

My friend and I decided to mess with another friend who is very protective about her Minion collection. We decided to send her pictures where the Minion, if a live person, would have been screaming for help. Intention wasn’t to hurt, but she got hurt. I don’t blame her. She had a fever and she was woken up from sleep by our messages.

Image

Hurting people hurt others. She strictly told me to put the toys back in her cupboard. Jesus wouldn’t be in a rage… HOW DARE SHE? THAT IS SO RUDE.

I wasn’t going to talk to her. She offended me and we are “supposed” to be good friends. WHAT NONSENSE!

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted. Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.” (Mathew 5:1-48)

Sometimes you need to get dirty to see the beauty around you, see the beauty through the shadow of Christ’s cross. When you turn to Him, even when the situation is as silly as mine, he blesses and he opens your eyes to marvel at the beauty of the person you are angry at.

Though I was determined to not speak to the Minion friend for some days, the small voice won and I texted her to take rest and get well soon.

The Minion friend messaged back:

“I am sorry for acting like a prick. It’s so stupid. Being rude over silly toys. I’ll try to be a better person. But don’t be angry with me.”

Beauty. And it tastes so good.
Image
Leave a Reply

