When was the last time you did something for the first time?

Image

I didn’t know these lines were part of a popular song, until someone mentioned it to me a day before. That person also happens to be an actor, theatre artiste, former air force fighter pilot, astronaut, radio jockey and a motivational speaker. And at the age of 63, rather than thinking of taking a break, his to-do list is far from over. He wants to be known as a musician – rock star with his own band and an album.

While his list of crazies was bound to make me feel small – come on, what are the chances that majority of us are going to be in his league, a fighter pilot AND an astronaut? – it didn’t. Long after the interaction was over; I kept going back to his words…

When was the last time you did something for the first time?

Well, a long time ago.

While I pondered over my innocuous answer, I came to the realization that though I feel my life is quite busy  and that I don’t have time to do something I have never done before, it’s just an excuse by the end of the day. An excuse for a lifestyle which is way more comfortable than it should be.

I know a friend who wanted to open up a cupcake shop, but never did, because foraying into business is risky. In short, he chickened out.

I know another friend who feels she is in a job that isn’t meant for her. But she does nothing about it because her current job is close to home and the timings are amazing.

I know me, who always wanted to study abroad, but never tried because it was more convenient to come to the conclusion that the dream is impossibility.

 Image

While I crave for something new and exciting, I get only disappointment; the same kind that the sluggard gets in Proverbs 13:4. I wait for a sign or a vision or a dream to tell me that I am in the right track, when all I am supposed to do is take the first step in faith and courage; that’s all it takes… the first step.

With every passing day we get closer to the birth of Jesus, a day that marked the end of years of waiting. Why not with every passing day this wintry December, we take our first steps in faith? The same faith people had over the centuries, believing in the fact that the Messiah WILL come; believing without seeing.

Image

Too scared to believe in your dreams or the possibility of it coming true? Well, then the stage is yours to do something for the first time. Let this Christmas time put an end to the self-imposed waiting on our dreams… take the first step. 

{Proverbs 13:4: The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied}

Image

One thought on “When was the last time you did something for the first time?

Leave a Reply

