Remember…

Image

 

Decorations, candies, stationery, flowers, letters, Bible verses… the compilation of presents for my colleagues-cum-friends had begun a month in advance. I am not a spendthrift, so most of the stuff was hand-made or picked from flea markets.  

 

As the days passed by, I was going crazy with excitement. But on the day, as I woke up in the freezing cold, I felt my heart grow frosty. It’s like I almost didn’t want the day to unfold. It’s very hard to describe, but it usually happens when I am about to do something fun and exciting. I get this weird feeling, where I am almost wishing that it wasn’t happening to me.

 

Image

 

Looking at my three huge bags full of gifts, my dad (angel in disguise) dropped me halfway. I got to work early and as planned was done decorating everybody’s desks. Everything looked festive, but it felt anything but that.

 

You can make the outside beautiful, but it’s never really beautiful when the inside doesn’t feel the same.

 

After I was done checking my emails, I started going through the online devotionals. With the hum of the vacuuming taking place on the floor above, I remembered the words I had seen on a post earlier this week…..

 Image

 

In the craze of gifting, I had forgotten to remind myself of the gift that this month is all about. In the rush, I had forgotten to invite Jesus, the only reason for celebration, inside my heart.

 

Now I commend you because you remember me in everything and maintain the traditions even as I delivered them to you. (1 Corinthians 11:2)

 

It’s easy to get carried away, very very easy for me, when everybody’s in a holiday mood taking vacations, making fun plans, buying gifts and drinking eggnog. But rather than feeling empty when everything else is bursting with life, invite Love in before it’s too late.

 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

