What was the highlight of your day today?

Image

 

“I am calling to tell you that I am leaving for a Europe trip next month.”

And I am thinking to myself, “We haven’t spoken to each other in ages and now you are calling me out-of-the-blue to tell me about your fancy trip?”

“I’ll be going to Ireland, Italy, Greece…”

Either she wants me to accompany her (yoohoo!) or she’s just wants to rub it my face (whatever!).

 

“But I am not going to Spain; I have also convinced my team of the same. I want to go with you.”

“What?” Hmm, this doesn’t make sense.

“Don’t you remember we made a plan to go to Spain? Let’s go this year. And I also called you to tell you that I am thinking of you.”

 

Words can be like X-rays if you use them properly they’ll go through anything. You read and you’re pierced. (Aldous Huxley)

 

And her words pierced my heart. People have an incredibly amazing way of surprising you. To say I was shocked, by the fact that she remembered a conversation that took place a year ago, would be an understatement. I was humbled for it felt like God spoke to me through her. Spoke to me in words that melted my heart.

 

I am blessed with friends, good friends. You know the kind that would not only fight against the world but would also light up my heart when it is dark and dingy. One such person I came across on MySpace (crazy, I know!). We have been friends for four years, but we have never met each other. For Christmas, she sent me a beautiful bracelet and a lot of goodies. The words on the bracelet read – friendship worths gold. She’s the one I want to go meet in Spain.

 

Words are pale shadows of forgotten names. As names have power, words have power. Words can light fires in the minds of men. Words can wring tears from the hardest hearts. (Patrick Rothfuss)

 

While I got done with the call and resumed talking to my friends about something serious, I couldn’t smother the fire that was shining bright in my heart.

 

Words… they do that to you. They either break your soul or set you soaring high, above every problem, confusion or insecurity.

 

So, I ask you this: What are your words doing to you and people around you? Are you lighting fires in people’s hearts or are you too busy with what’s going on in your life?

 

Image

Leave a Reply

