Impossible is everything

Image

 

The family wanted to buy a house. A simple dream, but one with many complications. The newly-married couple wasn’t earning enough and the neighborhood that they had zeroed in on was one with high real-estate prices.

 

Then there was this complication during the birth of their only daughter – a tiny bundle of joy whose name meant “prayer” in Hebrew. With so many death’s in her family, the wife and her sister felt the doubts sneak in; they were paralyzed with fear almost believing that they might lose their ‘prayer’ for which they had prayed so hard.

 

Everything seemed impossible until they looked back…

 

Then there was this child, who grew up in a family feeling unwanted. She felt her relation with her mother was never going to change and the only time she will be at peace is when she stands on her mother’s grave. Yes, that’s when she had decided she would let go and forgive. Their lives together were unbearable and every day was trial with their relationship turning bitter with every passing day.

 

Having grown up with deep-rooted resentment for her mother, the girl was tired of praying for a change. But then some days back, she was surprised when she looked back…

 

Image

 

Then Moses said, “Now show me your glory.”

And the Lord said, “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the Lord, in your presence. I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion. But,” he said, “you cannot see my face, for no one may see me and live.”

Then the Lord said, “There is a place near me where you may stand on a rock. When my glory passes by, I will put you in a cleft in the rock and cover you with my hand until I have passed by. Then I will remove my hand and you will see my back; but my face must not be seen.”

(Exodus 33:18-21)

 

Did God want to give an impression that he is elusive when he shut Moses eyes? I don’t think so. I think what God was trying to say is “Fix your rear-view mirror, for that’s where you will find me”.

 

It’s very easy to feel that God’s working in our lives when the road is smooth and straight. But one speed bump is all it takes to lose perspective. And during those times, even though God might be passing by us, we won’t be able to see. 

 

That’s why He says, “look back…” for that’s when you will see the number of times He has worked in your lives.

 

The couple’s “prayer” is brimming with life and they moved in to the house they wanted last year. The child’s relationship with her mother is much better and though there are still fights, she knows it’ll just get better.

 

You see, they had figured out the secret and adjusted their rear-view mirror when everything around them seemed impossible. Fix yours too “for objects in the mirror are much closer than they appear”. 

 

 

Image

Leave a Reply

