Forever a slave?

Image

 

I have always made fun (harmless) of people who cry during movies. My mum tops the list; she and her faithful towel, which in turn cries out after the assault it undergoes when mum watches sad (which my sister and I find lame) movies.

 

But this weekend, it was my “lame” streak that needed some styling for 12 years a slave was, hands down, one of the biggest tear-jerkers I have ever seen. With my friend sitting next to me, I decided that the best way to appear nonchalant is to bury my face in the bucket of popcorn, which I was in no mood to eat.

 

I was very very glad that my mum wasn’t there with her “apple doesn’t fall far from the tree” comeback, but… I was also very very sad; not just for the community which suffered the cruelty portrayed in the movie, but us – free, healthy, happy living beings.

 

Slave, according to the online dictionary, is a person who is the legal property of another and is forced to obey them. And truth be told, I know a few of them.

 

There’s one, who can’t help but obey the commands of the anger that rises every time things don’t go his way. He is old and alone; estranged from his wife and talks rarely to his family. They want to give him another chance, but he refuses to let go and believes it’s their fault that his life turned out the way it is now.

 

There is another, who is the legal property of worry. Worry about her family, health, husband and children. Troublesome in-laws, unfaithful husband and a body which is tired and weary… yes, hers is a difficult life.

 

Then there is us, who compared to the unfortunate people from the movie, are free and healthy; but are forced to obey or are obsessed with things that we know aren’t good for us. Slaves to gossiping, bitterness, people’s opinions, and fear of the unknown… pretty much, all of us fall in that category.

 

Jesus answered them, “Truly, I tell all of you emphatically, that everyone who commits sin is a slave of sin.” (John 8:34)

 

I was going through my Facebook feed, and though these words didn’t make sense with the picture it was used for, they made sense to me.

 

Wisdom begins in wonder. (Socrates)

 

So, if I need to be wise, I need to be in “awe, admiration, fascination, marvel..”?

 

Guard your steps when you go to the house of God. Do not be quick with your mouth, do not be hasty in your heart to utter anything before God. As a dream comes when there are many cares, so the speech of a fool when there are many words. Therefore stand in awe of God. (Ecclesiastes 5:1-7)

 

Image

 

“Tell me

do u follow everything the bible says

like blindly? a book that was written by humans??

jesus is real

who said he’s not

but what do u hold as proof that he is the son of god?”

 

Slave to… doubt

 

I want to tell him that sometimes, you don’t get the answers when you ask the right questions; you just get more questions, far more unsettling than the ones you asked before.

 

Stand in awe… Is it really that difficult to the simplest thing? Sometimes, just sometimes, all you need to do is keep your skepticism aside and be in awe. And then the answers will come to you.

 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

