Petty-petty it’s about me (most of the times)

Image

 

 

It has happened with majority of the books I have read so far. Be it Mademoiselle Benoir – where the exchange of information takes place in the form of letters; totally my thing – or Maggot Moon – my choice of this novel amused my Editor as she assumed it is for kids alone – there’s always some character from the book I feel I can surely be related to, if only I was part of the same literature.

 

 

Currently I am reading a chapter from 1 Samuel and this time, its bang on similarity which clearly I am not proud of – Zealousness to take credit, to be noticed.

 

 

Saul was thirty years old when he became king and he reigned over Israel forty-two years. Saul chose three thousand men from Israel; two thousand were with him at Mikmash and in the hill country of Bethel, and a thousand were with Jonathan at Gibeah in Benjamin. The rest of the men he sent back to their homes.

 

Jonathan attacked the Philistine outpost at Geba, and the Philistines heard about it. Then Saul had the trumpet blown throughout the land and said, “Let the Hebrews hear!” So all Israel heard the news: “Saul has attacked* the Philistine outpost, and now Israel has become obnoxious to the Philistines.” And the people were summoned to join Saul at Gilgal. (1 Samuel 13:1-4)

 

*Saul took the credit when it was his son Jonathan, who did the heavy-duty work

 

Image

Image

 

Few instances that are like a blinking pointer that Saul and I might just be soul sisters

 

→ I am basically a goofball. So I crack a lot jokes, majority of them are lame. But I have to make sure I get the credit for it. If someone repeats what I have said, without doing so, this is what goes on inside of my maggot head – “How dare you? I’ll make sure people know those were my words, especially if they thought it was cool”.

 

→ Since my sister is a fashion designer, many often comment that the reason I pull off some looks is because of her. And when that happens, petty-petty jealousy makes sure she is heard (most of the times).

 

→ Since I am a journalist, I get to meet a lot of people. After an article if a person doesn’t revert with at least a ‘thank you’ or some form of acknowledgement, he/she is forever branded as ‘rude’. I know its manners, but many a times I need to learn to just let go.

 

 Image

Image

So what’s the magic potion to tackle the monster? I say, “Humility”. True humility is not thinking less of yourself; it is thinking of yourself less. I hear you Mr C.S. Lewis, and I am working on it. Just didn’t think it would be such a back-breaking deed to accomplish.

 

~~~~~~~~ 

Ò Mademoiselle Benoir by Christine Conrad:

http://www.mademoisellebenoir.com/events.htm

 

Ò  Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner:

http://www.sallygardner.net/books/maggot-moon/

Leave a Reply

