Okay

1

The time was 10:45 pm; a time when a person is usually getting ready to put to bed a day that just went by. Six of us were on our way back after watching The Fault in Our Stars, a plan that was made in February when the movie trailer was first released. Three of us had not only read the book by John Green but also the one to whom The Fault in Our Stars was dedicated to — Esther Grace Earl.

 

We were on our way back, as I said before – we were tired, hungry and happy as we all loved the movie. From the window of my cab, I saw a mini-truck, where the back was open and seated there were three women and two men. By the looks of it, they looked like daily wage labourers on their way back home, just like us. The seating didn’t look comfortable and the women folk looked haggard; they were trying hard not to doze off. The men couldn’t risk that as they were seated on the edge of the vehicle and chances of them falling on the road, if they fell asleep, were quite high.

 

I averted my eyes because guilt had clouded my vision. That also happens when I wear something ridiculously expensive and then spot an old lady begging for pennies. Guilt can rip your heart out without actually ripping it from your chest.

 

When I told my friend about it, she said – I’ll tell you something that I once told my friend. Don’t feel guilty for your life, for having things that no one else does. You didn’t decide for that to happen, so neither should you feel guilty. I also believe that what we do in our past lives, we reap in the next one. I guess you might have done something good to have a comfortable life now.

 

I agreed with her till the point she spoke about past live for the simple reason that I don’t believe in do-overs. I had read somewhere that if the human race was to die, then every animal and plant in the world will go on to live. But without them, humans won’t survive for very long.

 

2

3

4

 

Peter Parker aka Spiderman learns from his uncle Ben that “with great power comes great responsibility.” One of Rumpelstiltskin’s common line in the TV series Once Upon a Time is “Magic always comes with a price.”

 

Thus, our life comes at a price; the price being that you only get one shot at it.

 

I strongly believe that this life, the one that we take for granted and most of the times aren’t happy with, this is it. This life is our only shot for deciding how we spend the course of our very brief time here. 

 

This. Is. It.

 

This is the only life you get whether you like it or not. This is what Hazel Grace Lancaster tries to tell Augustus Waters when he is depressed because his cancer is back and he always thought he was special… a hero that one will remember forever even when he is long gone.

 

I might feel guilty when someone is not as privileged as me but then I also have an option. I have an option to make a difference while I am here. Not because I might then get an opportunity to “ride around on a unicorn” as Augustus says, but to leave not a mark but a smudge – ‘I did my part”.

 

You might have lost someone or someone might have left you; someone might have taken your heart and played hockey with or you might just H-A-T-E your life…

 

… but …

 

This. Is. It.

 

This is your life and there are no do-overs. Your experiences, good and bad, make you who you are, but it’s up to you what you do with the time you have left.

 

Okay?

 

 

 

The Fault in Our Stars’ trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ItBvH5J6ss

Esther Grace Earl’s story: http://tswgo.org/esthers-story.html

 

5

6

7

Leave a Reply

