Pictures of the week: Opulent surprises

take this

Pictures of the week: Opulent surprises

From going “Oh my goodness! Is this for real?” to “I am so very humbled”, the week was as beautiful as I could have ever imagined. But there was also one brief awkward moment where I dreamt that I was Jaden Smith’s mother, no clue where THAT came from; very very disturbing indeed.

Anyway, the word that I held on to was “Raphael”, the meaning of which I learnt when I was reading a New York Times article — God, please heal me. I am forever worrying, though this worry never reaches the surface for people to spot, and this word was a straw that I clutched on to whenever I felt I was drowning in my sea of self-made misery.

Apart from that, a pretty chipper week indeed.

DSC_5121 DSC_5064 DSC_4970 DSC_4926 DSC_4983

Oh my goodness! Is this for real?

My colleague-cum-friend who writes features on interior decor took me along on one such assignment. We went to a retailer’s house and the opulence blew my mind away. I guess the beautiful pictures speak for themselves.

2 1 PicMonkey Collage.jpg PicMonkey Collage

They’ve got a piece of me

My aunt and my grandmother came to visit me and my family. They were here for five days, out of which I could take only two-day leave from work. But we made the best use of it — we shopped, ate, came across the cutest tiniest guava fruit, went for a spa, watched TV together and laughed our hearts out. My grandmother is such a poser, it was fun taking her whacky pictures. The words ‘amazingly beautiful’ just captures 25 per cent of what those days actually meant to me.

take take

I am so very humbled

Two of my colleagues-cum-friends, who have no respect for dates and deadlines, surprised me with a birthday cupcake a couple of days ago; even though my birthday was on JUNE 09!!!! I was so touched, not because they bought cupcakes but because they managed to keep it a secret from me — first of its kind, otherwise I always come to know, always. Ha! Then we took some pretty disgusting pictures that we couldn’t stop laughing over.

kfhg:dfg

From love to some more crazy love

A kind friend gifted me a Christian book to read that I can’t wait to dig into especially now that I am (finally) done reading Love in the Time of Cholera. Excerpt from the book:

“Isn’t it interesting that in Acts 11, at the end of verse 26, it says, “The disciples were called Christians first at Antioch.” What I find interesting is the simple thought that the Christians didn’t name themselves. But rather, they were called (or named) “Christians” by those watching their lives. I wonder if it would be the same today. Could someone look at your life or look at my life and name me a Christian? A humbling thought for sure.” 

That’s how the ball kept rolling these past couple of days. Hope you had an amazing time too.

Thank you so much for reading.

Leave a Reply

