This is why I read

1 3

 

I had been watching Once Upon A Time since mid-April this year. And it was only this Thursday that the series came to end. It was being telecasted on TV so it took this long.

 

I am impatient to watch the next season, but you know what, I am also immensely relieved. Because the one hour spent over the past four months, can now be spent doing what I love the most and don’t always have enough time for — reading.

 

I am relieved because the habit is broken. I no longer have to rush back home, or stay awake late in the night to watch the repeat telecast. I don’t like watching shows on the Internet, so this is what happens every time. 

 

Back to the reading part. I met a friend a couple of days ago who said he has not been able to read a book in many years because of his busy schedule. He just got done with his term at Stanford, launched his 16th (or 14th?) book and is busy touring the country. “After it’s all over I plan on doing some reading. I have just been reading the newspapers and magazines, but I want to start reading some books and I have already got around 10 books piled up.”

 

1a 5

Many years ago I was going through a guy’s profile on MySpace. In the favourite books section he wrote: ‘You mean the ones people use to sit on?’ I never went back to his profile.

 

I don’t get people who don’t read or don’t have time for the same. It’s not just about learning and being transported to another world; reading, in my opinion, is taking out time to listen and understand other person’s opinion.

 

And if you don’t read or think it’s a waste of time, then you clearly will think listening to me is a waste of time too. {Cue to exit this blog if you fall in this category, ha ha!}

 

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. (John 1:1)

 

When seeing does not cause one to believe, what does the poor soul do? It reads. It reads to remember what it has forgotten.

 

I pick up a book to read not because I don’t know what to do with my time, but because I want to know more. You see, we use only 10 per cent of our brain. So there is a lot we don’t know and we don’t understand. And I want to dive in this ocean. Take as my gulps of the salty water than my limited existence will allow.

 

That’s why I read. Because I want to know. That’s why I pick up the Bible when I am confronted with a mystery that no one has a solution for. Because you see, In the beginning was the Word and I mean to read and know every bit of it.

 

4 6

 

One thought on “This is why I read

Leave a Reply

