O.B.S.E.R.V.E.

IMG_20140822_180504

PicMonkey Collage3

PicMonkey Collage 2

 

I had always wanted my room to look straight out of an interior décor magazine. In reference, check out the décor of Tamara Ecclestone’s £70 million mansion (www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2726946/Tamara-Ecclestone-shows-mansion-Londons-expensive-street.html). Even though I might never live in a house this expensive, I like the basics — perfect, classy, dust-free and uncluttered; unlike what my room usually is. I am obsessed with making things pretty and, many a times, to an unhealthy extent. 

 

 

There used to be lot of fights, ‘silent treatments’ and cold wars between my sister, who’s not at all stuck up like me, and I. There would also be times, when I would run back to my room from outdoors because I remembered something that was out of place. On other occasions, I would just be burning with anger at my mum, dad or sis for the mess.

 

 

take this

 

David said, “So be strong, act like a man, and observe what the Lord your God requires…”

(1 Kings 2:1-4)

Observe: Notice or perceive (something) and register it as being significant.

 

 

The madness ensued until I realized or let’s say observed, during one of the many dusting sessions, that no matter how much I clean, wash or scrub, the dust is always going to there. You can’t see it, but the dust is there even if the skin peels off trying to get rid of it, it’s always there. The next day it becomes more visible and after few more days, it’s pretty much in your face.

 

blog

 

 

Just like our shortcomings. No matter how much I try, how much I persevere, I will always make mistakes; I will always fall short of living a life that’s perfect. Then why drive myself over the wall trying to make the impossible happen; especially when in this case, when impossible most certainly does not stand for ‘I’m possible’.

 

 

 

But I still need to clean, you know. Otherwise, I would be living under a pile of stinking rubble. Fortunately, Bible has a healthy way out for my madness — Everything should be done in a fitting and orderly way (1 Corinthians 14:40).

 

Fitting: suitable or appropriate under the circumstances; right or proper.

 

There is no use having a beautiful house when the hearts of the inhabitants doesn’t reflect the same beauty. It took me a while, but I got there. And guess who taught me this lesson? Why, of course, it was the dust, who else?

 

blog2

Leave a comment