Past, present and THE future

1 2 3

It was what my sister and I loved watching on TV when we were little kids; it was also what my mum would put a ban on when we would disobey her or get low results in school — Dennis the Menace. It used to telecast at around 5ish, so my sister and I would finish homework and then sit down for 30 minutes to watch the show in peace. But on the days we were not allowed to watch it, it used to feel like the world was coming to an end. Well, at least that’s how I used to feel; I am hoping my sister was a little mature.

Then high school happened. How I wished I could go back to the ‘Dennis the Menace’ days, which felt like cakewalk when compared to the never-ending tests, competitive classmates and mean teachers. At that time, I used to think that teachers were the happiest people on the face of the earth. All they had to do was correct our test papers, while I was the one who slogged, burned the midnight oil and still would never get impressive scores. I remember being thoroughly frustrated with my academics, which I could never excel at.

The past loses its roughness when looked through the tired gaze of the present. But the past was someday a present. It was a period in our lives when we experienced extreme sadness, happiness and anger. It was real; it ruined us, it broke us and it brought us up. But through it all, we survived. We survived to step into the future; the future that holds the hope that something new and fantastic is coming our way.

I call this, The Ant Perspective. I wish I could be friends with the little ones when I see them marching in a straight line in my room (but then I change my mind and kill them). I wish I could tell them, especially when they might feel dejected, that even though they have not have found a whole lot in my room, tons and tons of food awaits them in the kitchen. They can’t see, but I can and if they can only believe what I am telling them… fulfilment is just round the corner, literally.

If you can only keep hoping then what C.S. Lewis says will make sense even to you too: There are far, far better things ahead than any we leave behind.

But if you don’t have any hope for the future… wait a minute! You have no hope for the future? Really? If you have no hope then what’s the point of living anyway? (Hershel, The Walking Dead)

6 5 4 3

Leave a Reply

