Crawling Tiger, Hurting Dragon

1

 

The dawn of realisation broke through the mist of laziness and self-complacency — I need to start exercising, not the usual regime that I have been following for the past couple of months; but a new schedule, one that needs to be a little more tougher, a bit more challenging.

I realised, It was time to take things to the next level.

The wake-up call came when I looked at some of my old pictures because that’s when I realised that I never had love handles ( I prefer to call them hate handles) until now. The hate handles aren’t that obvious yet, but like everybody else that’s my current problem area.

With an excitement that usually accompanies when one does something they love, I started going through various exercise options that one can do at home. But goodness, 15 minutes within the new workout and ‘excitement’ was running in the opposite direction. It was all so tough.

2a
I did this one, just once because I felt a little light-headed. But doesn’t it look beautiful? Can’t wait to master it.
3
I didn’t know I was so terrible at balancing my body.
4
I liked the first posture more.

After 40 minutes of panting, losing my balance and feeling giddy, I was still motivated to repeat the cycle the next. I guess the strength came from the fact that I could relate my experience to what I had just finished reading.

God is easy to please but hard to satisfy. (George MacDonald) 

I have a long list of things that I struggled with in the past — inferiority complex, anger, depression, I was terrible at talking to new people and I NEVER gave, I was a miser and I would make it a point to never spend money. But God worked in me and even though I still struggle with some of the issues, I am not the person I was a couple of years ago. Every time, God took something bad for me, I would ask : “Wow! That’s cool. Is there anything else you need to work on because now I think I am perfect.”

And that’s how I feel at present on many occasions. I genuinely can’t pinpoint what God is going to work on next, what is my next weakness that He will turn into my biggest strength… For that alone, I am glad God is never satisfied.

Change is difficult and uncomfortable. Change might mean cutting back on doing something that you are so habitual to doing; it might also mean that it will hurt, physically and emotionally, it might also mean that you are going to be forced into it even when you are not ready.

But if you want to make something of yourself, of your life… If you want to do something big and make the most of your limited time… Change is what you need.

“Imagine yourself as a living house. God comes in to rebuild that house. At first, perhaps, you can understand what He is doing. He is getting the drains right and stopping the leaks in the roof and so on; you knew that those jobs needed doing and so you are not surprised. But presently He starts knocking the house about in a way that hurts abominably and does not seem to make any sense. What on earth is He up to? The explanation is that He is building quite a different house from the one you thought of – throwing out a new wing here, putting on an extra floor there, running up towers, making courtyards. You thought you were being made into a decent little cottage: but He is building a palace. He intends to come and live in it Himself.”

 
― C.S. Lewis, Mere Christianity 
 
 

In the end, you need to stop crouching and hiding from what change has to offer and take your life to the next level. Because do you really think tigers and dragons were meant to lead lives, crouching and hiding?

2
5
Leave a Reply

