Be present, in the present

take this

In the book Looking for Alaska, Dr Hyde explains to a student, who rather than concentrating on the lecture (world religion) was day dreaming while looking outside the window.  “While you were looking out the window, you missed the chance to explore the equally interesting Buddhist belief in being present for every facet of your daily life, of being truly present. Be present in this class. And then, when its over, be present out there.”

Usually I am not there; you might be talking to me, but soon you’ll realise I am not there. But since I am your friend, you’ll not make a big fuss about it and accept me the way I am. That’s what friends do, isn’t it?

take this2 take this3

I love daydreaming, always have. You would think it can’t hurt anyone, but it always anyway does. Ever driven all the way home without being mentally present behind the wheels? Were you ever part of a conversation that you remembered not a single word of? Ever spoke to someone hours on a phone with a customary ‘yes’ without really knowing what they are talking about?

I have done that and truth me told, the only one losing out in the end has been me. Perhaps that’s why Dr Hyde’s words resonated so strongly to me. Be present… that’s my prayer right now. Be present… whenever I feel myself slipping to the dreamy lands of slaying dragons and running through dungeons. Be present… when I pretend to be listening to someone when in reality my mind is soaring as high as the eagle in the sky. Be present… for today is a gift only when you accept it…

I don’t want to be a day dreamer,

I want to be a live streamer.

I don’t what to think about the future,

when the present is all sutured.

Leave a Reply

