Shield

pinterest pinterest2 pinterest3

 

The sky is turning pink, which means the day is coming to an end. It’s Sunday but that means nothing to me and my friends. We work every Sunday, so this one is no different. But today I woke up feeling panicky, so I guess this Sunday is a little different. There was this fear that I couldn’t explain; I felt like I was drowning and when I woke up I felt like I was gasping for more air.

I don’t know what you do when your is heart gripped with irrational fear. I couldn’t fall asleep even though I wasn’t getting late. And like a drowning man I held on to the words that I had been memorising for more than two weeks:

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.
(Deuteronomy 31:6)

I don’t know what you do when your heart is gripped with irrational fear. But for me, these words are my shield, and since I am an eternal coward, I hide behind them in fear.

Leave a Reply

