And it finally happened…

Charming-Series-of-Illustrations-Depict-What-Words-Fail-to-Capture3__880
By: marijatiurina.com

The summer this time round has been killing, quite literally. As the weary tried to fight the insurmountable heat that they had no control over, some gave up. In the last two weeks, close to 2,000 people lost their lives because of the heat wave in the country.

2,000, more than the number of lives that were lost due to Ebola, exclaimed my colleagues in wondrous horror. I, on the other hand, didn’t have any words, just a weak prayer for the rains to embrace the drying Earth soon.

—-

We have been friends for many years now, she is like my little sister even though it’s usually she who comes up with the wise advice that leave me at a loss of words.

When she was studying in college, I was working. Which meant whenever we hung out, I would never let her pay — a ‘Pay It Forward‘ act since the same hand was dealt to me when I was in college. She had a tough time in her final year of college as she couldn’t clear some exams. It was frustrating because during that time she was also planning to study abroad.

For a long time, as long as two years, she would constantly find herself in a spot that made her unable to move forward. “I feel like I am going to be stuck in college for the rest of my life writing exams,” she said during one of our hangout sessions. And it got worse when on the day she was supposed to appear for re-examination, she fell sick. “It was terrible; in my three-hour long exam, I had to rush to the bathroom thrice. I don’t know if I am going to clear my exams,” she sighed, that deep sigh that makes it very difficult to come with anything comforting.

—–

doggy

Pluviophile: a lover of rain; someone who finds joy and peace of mind during rainy days

She is working now, my little sister. She is working at a place that pays her twice the amount I get. She has travelled abroad and has made good friends at work and most importantly, she is happy, an emotion that is not only underrated but just so very hard to find…

It was Friday night and the day was as usual hot. While cleaning my room towards the afternoon, I heard what all of us had been waiting for since a month, thunder. I was about to step out but I didn’t mind the rain ruining my hair and clothes. Oh! How I was ready to dance like a drunkard on the streets that had waited for the showers for so long.

The rain came down, it finally did.

As I stood at the balcony in the middle of the night, I saw the water falling slowly in the pool and the pavement. It was beautiful, it was such a relief. And then I stuck my hand out and let the beauty come near me.

2 thoughts on “And it finally happened…

Leave a Reply

