Surprise visitor

IMG_20160222_132120

Brow etched in surprise, I got out of the bed with a start. The caress was familiar but it has been so long that I had forgotten what it felt like.

An inexplicable habit, difficult to make even myself understand – for some time now I have been sleeping next to the window with my head sticking out of the bed angled towards the square of space leading to outer space. Why do I do it? Because if I don’t, I feel like a tortoise forced to remain inside its shell. I need to know what’s happening out there – look in awe as the tiny, black mass of birds take their early morning flight across the amber sky, wave back at the branch of beautiful Bougainvillea as they reach out from the corner of my window or sway along with the trees as they embrace the secrets that greet them from near and far.

Monotony was broken and in place of the alarm’s banshee-like beckoning at 5.30 am, the gentle sing-song of the cool winter breeze midst the summer woke me up. I checked my phone – 21 degree Celsius – “Did you get lost?” I asked the welcome intruder. The answer was the unhinging noise of the window that danced along as the wind played along.

ORENDA: A mystical force present in all people that empowers them to affect the world or to effect change in their own lives.

I got up – it was difficult not to when beauty so pure was within reach – wrapped myself in a blanket and stared out of the window, my eyes adjusted to the dim light of the street lamp and glittering underneath its light was the fuchsia cluster of the waving Bougainvillea… How beautifully calm before another day of toil and turmoil was soon to take over. Sleep threatened to break the trance but I forced myself to look for as long as I possibly could.

And just as I started to fall asleep, the sky started to change its colours and from the corner of the sky came the flight of birds readying themselves for today’s dance.

Leave a Reply

