Sheer nothingness

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 4.44.50 PM
And despite the daily nothingness, I am still ‘wanted’… err, even if it’s for the wrong reasons.

Two days into my hiatus from work, my dad popped a question as perfect as an egg when I am not attempting to boil it – “Aren’t you getting bored at home all by yourself?” Took me a minute to reply because I was eating like my sister (=pig), “No, not really. There’s a lot to do.”

If you were a drone hovering over my house, you might be tempted to ask the same question. But you aren’t and thank goodness, the many scandalous things I do when nobody’s watching, which includes… LIKE I AM GOING TO TELL YOU!!! *bats her eyelashes mysteriously*

Here’s what my (average) day is like:

5.30 am: Rise and shine – not. Sulk and grunt and wake up because Miss (I talking to myself in third person. Cool, eh?) aspires to be a Dawn Worshipper – just like Anne from Green Gables.

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 4.09.51 PM
But what we’ll remember, dear reader, is this shot that was taken at 6 am and defies the aforementioned state of mind of the protagonist. And it’s this paradox that will hurl you into the depths of extreme chaos and confusion from where there is no escape. *woohahaha evil laugh*


6 am:
Dawn Worshipper is done worshipping – after 30 minutes the charm of looking at the twilight sky, birds across the sky and pathway strewn with trees has worn off. My preciousssss bed, comeeeee to meeee. *Gollum alert*

9.30 am:
While everybody is busy at work or busy living their lives, Miss gets out of the bed with singular determination to – Clean the Kitchen, which takes up to an hour. I, sometimes, feel I should have been a full-time maid; I genuinely enjoy tidying and cleaning – calms the chaos in my mind… What can I say, I am a complicated person. *smug*

Up till 1 pm:
There is washing, brushing, eating and reading – I am currently reading Mindy Kaling’s Why Not Me? and Little Darlings by Sam Llewellyn.

1 pm to 2 pm: Lunch is organised and gobbled down.

IMG-20150204-WA0012
“What goes best with a cup of coffee?” asks singer Henry Rollins. “Another cup.” True that to that.


2.30 pm to 3.30 pm:
Coffee date with Superman.

3.30 pm to 4 pm: Reading commences and light napping. I can’t believe that I get to take afternoon naps, such a rarity during my hectic work schedule. And as British writer Tom Hodgkinson puts it: “When the going gets tough, the tough take a nap.”5 pm to 6 pm: Internet time and that’s when, dear reader, you are presented with Pulitzer-winning blog posts like these. Thank you very much. I know I am doing a service to the society. *smile and wave, smile and wave*

6 pm to 7.30 pm:
Cyclingggggg. Gosh! I truly can’t believe how addicted I am to it. It’s one of the best things I have invested it. And if you were living where I am, you would be crazy enough to not explore the area, which now I have all the time for.

7.30 pm to 9.30 pm: Kitchen chores, snack time, helping mum make dinner and getting down to sit with the family and break bread – such a fancy word for the rotis I make which can be used to play Frisbee with.

9.30 pm to 10.45 pm: Cleaning up the kitchen area, tidying my room, watching TV, calling up distant family members and reading. This usually concludes with me taking a barefoot walk on the grass – which if you happened to peep from the window might make me appear like a crazy woman, but has tremendous health benefits.

8
Crazy woman with a cuckoo idea about what’s good for one’s health in the middle of the night – barefoot walking on the grass.

10.45 pm to 12: SEX AND THE CITY. I am ADDICTED to the show. Usually watched when folks have gone to sleep and the door to my room is securely locked. *wink wink*

12 pm to 1 pm: Reading the Bible and few chapters from the novel. And it is ta-ta, goodnight.

NOW, why do you think you might be interested in reading my schedule?

1) I secretly think you admire me. And since I am such a cool person, here I am sharing my Steve Jobs-kinda disciplined routine with you, free of cost!!!
2) Next time my dad asks me the same question, I just need to take a print out and hand this out to him. *flips her hair like the Plastics in the movie Mean Girls*
3) I couldn’t think of anything else to write on today. Sigh!

NOTE: Even though helping mum in the domestic chores might come across as an utter waste of time, I can’t help but experience this peace whenever I do help her out. Considering the gazillion-billions dishes she has washed and the meals she has cooked, it feels like I am giving back to her – even if it’s half a per cent of what she has ever done for me.

2 thoughts on “Sheer nothingness

  1. Lovely read Anisha…I can totally imagine those expression in (brackets). And yes kitchen chores gives me a high at times. I feel like I am the queen of that small area.

Leave a Reply

