How did that make you feel?

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 10.15.33 PM
The answer to that question: The grass was itchy and ants were crawling up my sleeve. Happy? *sigh*

It was a road trip – at least it felt like one. Against the setting sun and an hour in the cab, human mind can conjure up a lot of nonsensical things to talk about. When I wasn’t busy fanning the back of my neck, I was listening to my sister narrate the story of the recently released Bollywood film, Fan – one that she feels “could have easily been wrapped up in an hour”. Clearly not watching this one, thank you, very much.

Home was the destination. I mean, after an hour long philandering at a cafe that I used to visit every day but with my change of work had now become once a week treat. But then it was finally destination Home, one that has been since 2010. If it takes 21 days to form a habit, imagine what happens in a span of six long years. And since you are imagining, go on and give it a try when that six year long habit has to be let go of, out of the blue.

IMG-20160414-WA0001
Zone of philanderment. New word = Am so cool

Needless to say, I was (and sometimes still am) finding the transition to this new place of work and abode a little disconcerting. As I got back to familiar streets, doggies by the roads and the Bully who still eats up others’ food, I was overwhelmed.

The heat was blistering, so we stayed indoors. But as the clock struck 6, I was out of the door with my cycle and a bag full of snacks for the dogs – *okay fine, it was just a piece of bread*.

As I made my way through familiar roads, crossing boys who played football and the old men who sat across the road, the wind started to blow and the sun hid in a corner. The basket was full of books that was slowly dripping in water, the rain that started as a drizzle soon turned into a downpour.

I wish my glasses had wipers akin to the ones in cars, for they had suddenly become useless and the sight of them with wiper would sure have ben a spectacle.

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 10.19.35 PM
I couldn’t help but sing out in joy – gone was the heat and the need to keep sighing. Though I do realise now why people turned and looked at me so often. It wasn’t my beauty, but the out of tune singing.

Later that evening, I had to pack my bags and come to my second home. Though I was a little sad, I rejoiced over the wonderful realisation –

Goodbyes are inevitable and people can’t remain in your lives forever. But what does remain, always and forever, is how they made you feel – you might remember them fondly and your heart will leap and sing or perhaps they will be the ones that will give you the discomfort that will make you want to weep.

But in the end what matters really is how they made you feel.

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 10.15.08 PM
Leave a Reply

